Our course is designed to work around your busy schedule. Take it on your phone, tablet, and laptop!
The most comprehensive parent taught drivers education course for Texas teenagers. Includes every lesson and tip you need to learn how to drive safely.
We help parents teach their teenagers and save thousands in the process. Everyone knows that parents are the best equipped to teach their kids how to drive.
ParentTaught.com | Texas Parent-Taught Driver Education Course Provider License PT214
All Texas teens ages 14-17 can take Parent Taught Drivers Ed, as long as they have an eligible instructor and are enrolled in school. Your instructor does not have to be your parent.
Purchase our state-approved parent taught drivers ed course.
Purchase the PTDE Program Guide from the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation ($20). The PTDE is a separate purchase that is required by the State of Texas.
After completing the first six hours of the course we’ll email you a Learner License Certificate. Take this certificate and a few other documents to the DPS, where you will receive your Learners Permit after the eye exam.
Take the rest of the course and complete your 44 Behind-The-Wheel hours with your instructor.
After passing the driving test you’ll have your license!
To begin this course you must be at least 14 years old and have an eligible parent instructor. Keep in mind you will have to wait until you are 15 to get your learners permit and 16 to get your license
From The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation:
The instructor must be the student’s parent, step-parent, grandparent, step-grandparent, foster parent or legal guardian appointed by a court. A power of attorney is not considered a legal guardian. Additionally, a parent, legal guardian, or a judge of a court with jurisdiction over the student can designate a person to instruct the course who:
is at least 25 years old;
does not charge a fee for conducting the course; and
has at least seven years of driving experience.
The instructor must have a valid driver license for the prior three years. If you held an out-of-state license during the past three years, you will be required to provide a copy of your driving record showing your three years of licensed driving history.
Instructors cannot have:
a conviction (including a probated sentence) of criminally negligent homicide
a conviction (including a probated sentence) of driving while intoxicated in the last seven years
had their driver license suspended, revoked or forfeited for traffic related violations in the past three years; or six or more points assigned to their driver license.
It is Your Responsibility to determine if your instructor is eligible, carefully review the requirements before proceeding with the course. If you do not have an eligible instructor send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org and we’ll find a solution to help get you on the road!
The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) requires you to purchase the PTDE packet. The packet must be purchased directly from TDLR (you can buy it here). Make sure to purchase this beforehand because DPS will not count any work you do in our course before you get your packet (they check the receipt to make sure)
In total you’ll need 44 behind-the-wheel hours to get your license, and you’ll be able to start working on them once you get your permit. 14 of the hours need to be with your official parent instructor. The other 30 hours (10 have to be at night) can be completed with a licensed adult that is at least 21.
100% Satisfaction Guarantee: We want to make sure you are happy with your purchase. You are eligible for a full refund if your purchase was within the last 30 days and you haven’t earned any certificates.
While you can begin the course at 14 years of age. We cannot issue you a Learner License Certificate until you are 15 years old (In accordance with state laws that are out of our control). Come back on your birthday and take the quiz to earn your certificate!